Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Double Bass

Double bass lessons are possible from the age of 6 years old.

Teacher: Renke Van Impe - contact: 0479 40 47 86 -

Lessons can be followed in English, Dutch, German or French.

The double bass is the biggest brother of the violin in the string family. Although it is always mentioned with this family, it’s a bit of an outsider: its sound box has a slightly different shape and the strings are tuned at different intervals than the violin, viola or cello. It sounds so low that it is the musical ‘foundation’ of every orchestra or band.

Because the double bass is so large that it comes out above your head, you have to stand up (or sit on a high bar stool) to play it. Fortunately for children there are also smaller sizes of double bass, so do not let the size of this instrument stop you from learning it!

Just like the other string instruments, the double bass is also played with a bow that strikes over the strings. Of course, you also just pluck the strings, a way of playing that we call ‘pizzicato’.

The double bass has found its way in just about any music style: jazz, pop music, classical music, pop music, rockabilly, folk, … Depending on the style of music (especially classical vs. jazz), the playing technique also varies. In the somewhat rougher genres, the double bass is often replaced by a bass guitar.

Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Contrebasse

Les cours de contrebasse sont possibles à partir de 6 ans.

Professeur: Renke Van Impe - contact: 0479 40 47 86 - renke.vanimpe@hotmail.com

Les leçons peuvent être données en français, en néerlandais, en allemand ou en anglais.

La contrebasse est le plus grand instrument dans la famille des cordes. Bien qu’elle soit toujours mentionnée dans la famille des violons, elle est en fait un outsider : sa caisse de résonance a une forme légèrement différente et les cordes sont accordées à des intervalles différents que le violon, l’alto ou le violoncelle. Elle sonne si bas qu’elle forme le « fondement » musical de tout orchestre ou ensemble.

Comme la contrebasse est si grande qu’elle dépasse au-dessus de votre tête, vous devez vous lever (ou vous asseoir sur un tabouret haut) pour en jouer. Il existe heureusement aussi des contrebasses de plus petites tailles pour les enfants. Ne vous laissez donc pas décourager par la taille de l’instrument si vous désirez apprendre à jouer la contrebasse en bas âge !

Tout comme les autres instruments à cordes, la contrebasse se joue avec un archet qui frotte les cordes. Mais elle se joue aussi souvent en pinçant les cordes, un jeu que l’on appelle le “pizzicato”.

La contrebasse a trouvé son chemin dans presque tous les styles de musique : jazz, musique pop, musique classique, rockabilly, folk, … Selon le style de musique (surtout classique ou jazz), la technique de jeu varie également. Dans les genres un peu plus rudes, la contrebasse est souvent remplacée par une guitare basse.