Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Drums & Percussions

Drum lessons are possible from the age of 7 years old.

Teacher: Pieter Dedoncker - contact: 0499 14 08 73 – dedonckerpieter@gmail.com

Lessons can be followed in English, Dutch or French.

According to the Van Dale dictionary, a drummer is “someone who plays the drums”. This seems to overlook one important fact, that a drummer is first a musician. A correct description should be “a musician who plays the drums”. By shifting the attention towards the person behind the instrument, the instrument increases in value.

A drum set is not just a tool that can produce, and reproduce, rhythms after having read the user’s manual. The drums are, at the contrary, a communication medium that allows the drummer to express its rhythmic feelings, but also its melodic and harmonic feelings.

Drumming isn’t just beating the drums with a pair of sticks. It demands to the drummer to fully open up to his senses so as to have both the body and the mind directing together the infinite sound palette that his drum set can offer. Drumming is telling a story on a very versatile instrument. To play the drums is to interact with the other musicians, feeling each other, completing and bolstering each other. A good technique and control of the instrument are to be aimed at this ultimate goal.

A drum course at Class & Jazz teaches you how to communicate as “a musician who plays the drums”.

Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Batterie & Percussions

Les cours de batterie sont possibles à partir de 7 ans.

Professeur: Pieter Dedoncker - contact: 0499 14 08 73 – dedonckerpieter@gmail.com

Les leçons peuvent être données en français, en néerlandais ou en anglais.

Selon le dictionnaire Van Dale un batteur est “quelqu’un qui joue de la batterie”. Cette description semble oublier un élément essentiel : le fait qu’un batteur est d’abord un musicien. La bonne définition devrait donc être « un musicien qui joue de la batterie ». En déplaçant ainsi l’attention vers la personne qui se trouve derrière l’instrument, l’instrument prend plus de valeur.

Une batterie n’est pas un outil quelconque qui permet de produire et de reproduire des rythmes après avoir lu le mode d’emploi. La batterie est, bien au contraire, un medium de communication qui permet au batteur d’exprimer son sens du rythme, mais aussi son sens de la mélodie et de l’harmonie.

Jouer de la batterie est donc bien plus que de taper sur des fûts avec des bâtons. Le batteur doit s’ouvrir à ses sens afin que le corps et l’esprit puissent ensemble - à l’unisson - diriger l’infinité de sons de la batterie. Il s’agit de raconter son histoire au moyen d’un instrument aux facettes multiples. Jouer de la batterie est entrer en interaction avec les autres musiciens afin de se sentir l’un l’autre, de se compléter et de se soutenir mutuellement. Une bonne technique et un bon contrôle de l’instrument doivent être mis en fonction de ce but ultime.

Un cours de batterie chez Class & Jazz vous apprend à communiquer en tant que « musicien qui joue de la batterie ».