Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Guitar, Electric Guitar & Bass Guitar

Guitar lessons are possible from the age of 8 years old.
To learn how to play the guitar demands an important physical effort – like the spreading of the fingers – that quickly can become discouraging for smaller hands, therefore we generally advice not to start with the guitar at a too young age.

Teachers
Michel Kuijken - contact: 0494 17 55 83 – lluna1@numericable.be
Arthur Maes - contact: 0472 27 59 34 – arthur_maes@linuxmail.org

Lessons can be followed in English, Dutch or French.

The guitar course is diverse and depends on which type of guitar one chooses. There are quite a lot of different guitar types on the market and each type comes with its specific styles and techniques; the one is played with the fingers, the other is played with a ‘pick’. It is of course also possible to choose for a combination of styles and of guitars.

Classical Guitar (or “Spanish” Guitar)
This is a guitar with nylon strings (bass strings surrounded by metal), with a large neck, that is played with the right hand fingers. Certainly ideal for Classical music, but also for beginners who have not yet decided which style of music they intend to play. This type of guitar is the easiest for (young) starters to learn the basic techniques of the instrument. Later on, one can always opt for different styles of music, and a different kind of guitar (or, of course, perfect oneself in the Classical music!).

Electric Guitar
With exceptions, most electric guitars have a hard body, a small neck, and produce almost no sound at all without the use of an amplifier. They are all equipped with electromagnetic pick-ups that transform the vibration of the strings into an electric signal. This type of guitar is usually played with a pick. It is mostly used for Blues and Rock, but also quite often in Jazz (there are also semi-acoustic guitars with one or more pick-ups and a hollow body of variable thickness).

Folk Guitar (or “Western” Guitar).
This guitar with steel strings has a smaller neck and a bigger body in comparison to the classical guitar. The steel strings produce a harder and clearer sound. This type of guitar is typical for Folk music (to learn how to play with chords for example) and for “Picking Blues”. The use of a pick, or not, entirely depends on the style of music. Compared to the classical guitar, the first steps on this type of guitar will be more difficult, especially for the left hand, because steel strings feel a lot harder and sharper than nylon strings (not recommended for children hands).

Jazz Guitar (or “Gypsy” Guitar)
This acoustic guitar with steel strings is mostly used for Gypsy Jazz (made famous by the Gypsy Jazz guitarist Django Reinhardt). Its internal construction produces a much harder and aggressive sound. It needs stronger hands to produce a good sound and is therefore not recommended for beginners. But for advanced students who likes to play the Jazz, this guitar can be a fantastic challenge.

Bass Guitar
This guitar is different from all the others in the much lower sound it produces. It usually has only 4 strings (sometimes 5 or 6). A much heard mistake is that the bass guitar is merely an easy “comping” (accompaniment) instrument. Not at all! In every musical style, the bass guitar can play the most interesting (and difficult) parts in the band, harmonically, rhythmically and melodically.

Which guitar should I buy?
This depends of course on your personal taste and style preference. But, be very much aware that the market is flooded with guitars of disputable quality. Contact us for a free try-out lesson before rushing to the music store. Our teachers will advice you also for the purchase of the guitar that should fit you the best.

The sheet music and audio files, necessary for the best work at home, are entirely free. To learn how to read music is not a strict necessity but is always recommended.

Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Guitare, Guitare Electrique & Basse

Les cours de guitare sont possibles à partir de 8 ans.
Apprendre à jouer la guitare demande un grand effort physique – notamment d’écartement des doigts – qui peut très vite devenir décourageant pour les petites mains. C’est pourquoi nous déconseillons généralement de commencer la guitare trop jeune.

Professeurs:
Michel Kuijken - contact : 0494 17 55 83 – lluna1@numericable.be
Arthur Maes - contact: 0472 27 59 34 – arthur_maes@linuxmail.org

Les leçons peuvent être données en français, en néerlandais ou en anglais.

Le cours de guitare est varié et dépend du type de guitare choisi. On trouve sur le marché toute une série de guitares toute de type différent, et chaque type de guitare amène ses propres styles et ses techniques spécifiques ; l’une se joue avec les doigts, tandis que l’autre se joue avec un plectre (ou mediator). Il est bien sûr possible aussi de combiner au cours différents types de styles et de guitares.

Guitare classique (ou “espagnole”)
C’est une guitare montée avec des cordes en nylon (dont les basses sont enrobées d’un fil métallique), avec un manche large, qui se joue avec les doigts de la main droite. Certainement idéal pour la musique classique, mais également pour tous ceux qui n’ont pas encore fait le choix d’un style de musique bien déterminé. C’est sur ce type de guitare qu’il est le plus aisé d’apprendre la technique de base de l’instrument. Plus tard, il est toujours possible d’opter pour une autre direction, et un autre type de guitare (ou de parfaire sa formation classique !).

Guitare électrique
Il existe des exceptions, mais la plupart des guitares électriques ont un corps massif (“body”), un manche étroit, et ne produisent quasiment aucun son en dehors de l’emploi d’un amplificateur. Elles sont donc toutes équipées de capteurs électromagnétiques (“pickups” ou “micros”) qui transforment les vibrations des cordes en signal électrique. Ce type de guitare se joue généralement avec un plectre. On l’utilise souvent pour le rock ou le blues, mais également pour le jazz (il existe aussi des guitares “semi-acoustiques”, équipées de un ou plusieurs capteurs, dont l’épaisseur de la caisse est très variable).

Guitare folk (ou “western”)
Entièrement équipée de cordes métalliques, elle se différencie par une plus grande caisse de résonnance et un manche légèrement plus fin que la guitare classique. Les cordes métalliques produisent un son plus dur et plus clair. Elle est indispensable pour le folk (pour apprendre à jouer des accords par exemple) ou pour le “Blues Picking”. L’utilisation du plectre, ou non, dépend ici surtout du style de musique. Comparée à la guitare classique, les débuts seront plus ardus, surtout pour la main gauche qui se retrouve ici confrontée à des cordes beaucoup plus dures (à déconseiller aux mains d’enfant par ex).

Guitare jazz (ou “manouche”)
C’est une guitare acoustique avec cordes métalliques qui s’utilise surtout dans le jazz “manouche” (rendu célèbre par le guitariste Django Reinhardt). La construction interne de la caisse de résonnance a pour conséquence un son beaucoup plus dur et agressif. Elle demande également plus de force dans les mains pour les faire sonner correctement, ce qui n’en fait pas un choix idéal pour les débutants, mais ce qui peut se traduire par un fantastique défi pour les élèves les plus avancés dans le programme jazz.

Guitare basse
Elle se différencie par la hauteur des sons produits, ainsi que par le nombre de cordes. Elle est accordée en général une octave plus bas, et dispose généralement de quatre cordes (parfois cinq ou six). On entend souvent dire que la basse est un instrument d’accompagnement relativement “facile”. Rien n’est moins vrai. Indépendamment des styles de musiques choisis, il s’agit là d’un instrument des plus intéressants (et difficiles) sur le plan rythmique, harmonique et mélodique.

Quelle guitare acheter ?
Ceci dépend bien sur des gouts et des préférences de styles. Et, il vaut mieux être très prudent parce que le marché est inondé d’instruments de qualité fort douteuse. Prenez contact avec nous pour un premier cours à l’essai avant d’aller au magasin de musique. Nos professeurs vous conseilleront aussi pour décider du type de guitare qui devrait vous convenir au mieux.

Nous fournissons les partitions ainsi que tous les supports sonores indispensables afin d’optimiser le travail à domicile. L’apprentissage du solfège n’est pas une nécessité absolue, mais toujours conseillée.