Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Pedagogy

All Music Styles

CLASS & JAZZ aims to avoid dividing music with too many labels and into too many styles. Music is music! The foundation of the programme does not oppose classical music to jazz/rock/pop. From the very start we opt for a global approach that enables the students to explore all the musical styles they are interested in during their initial training.

Later on, students will usually make a choice according to their inclinations and taste, as different styles require different approaches. Classical musicians need to develop a versatile instrumental technique and a good understanding of the written, pre-arranged music score. The training consists mainly of reading and performing the classical repertoire. Jazz, rock and pop musicians need to possess a thorough knowledge of scales and chords, oriented towards a more personalised technique, and towards composition, arrangement and improvisation. The approach includes the creative use of music theory while playing jazz, rock, pop and world music standards.

But it is a mistake to think that classical musicians can neglect music theory, and that conversely, jazz musicians can ignore instrumental technique and sight-reading.

All our teachers provide both approaches.

Integrated Music Theory

At CLASS & JAZZ the music theory is not a compulsory and distinct lesson. It is taught alongside instrument tuition in a “comprehensive” package. As all aspects are taught by the same teacher with the same perspective, students find it easier to develop a good insight into the way all aspects link together:

  • Instrumental technique: coordination of eye, hand and ear
  • Music theory: notes, rhythm, scales and chords, analysis
  • Ear training: sight-reading and singing, musical dictation, playing by ear
  • Musicality: interpretation, musical culture, development of one’s own musical personality

If needed or required, individual lessons are also flexible enough to concentrate on certain more specific aspects such as sight-reading, composition, improvisation, arrangement, jazz harmony, classical harmony … (see also aspects mentioned above)

Thanks to this comprehensive tuition, students need travel only once for an instrument lesson AND a music theory lesson.

Stage Projects

Students are given the opportunity to start up a musical total project, if they wish to do so. The idea is to organize, and to perform, a concert, completely personalized in style and presentation, with a cast of musicians of one’s own choice … under advice and guidance of our teacher’s team.

There are four types of projects, each one symbolizing a different phase in the musical achievement. At each phase, the musician is confronted with new challenges, and learns how to master them. And each phase builds further on the know-how acquired in earlier phases.

The JOY Project
For young musicians: simply to share the joy of playing wit its audience.

The ATTITUDE Project
For the creative minds who, with (partially, or totally) self written works, want, next to playing, also to give the performance their own individuality, personality and character.

The SKILLS Project
For advanced students who want to show and demonstrate everything they’ve learned so far: virtuoso, bold and sincere. (required level : admission test to music conservatory)

The ART Project
As highest goal, to achieve the learning cycle, to show that, from now on, one has become an “artist”.

Semi-Professional training
The CANDIDS / The ARTISTS / FOLK-WORLD / JAZZ-FUSION

Our most experienced students are invited (selected) to take the courses The ARTISTS (each Friday, from 21h to 22h), FOLK-WORLD Ensemble (each Saturday, from 10h to 11h), and/or JAZZ-FUSION Ensemble (Tuesday, every other week, from 20h to 22h). The purpose of these courses is to be further trained at a professional level, as musicians who consciously use their individual talents to the benefit of the “team” work, on behalf of “the group.”

The ARTISTS training includes the learning of various group and stage techniques such as Close Harmony, Musical Interactive Leadership, Accompaniment Practice, Arrangement/Improvisation/Composition, Band Coaching, Band Management, … The ARTISTS activities range from accompanying our other students on our OPUS-day (annual CLASS & JAZZ concert) or on their individual Stage Projects, to the creation of specific ARTISTS projects, concerts and shows.

The FOLK-WORLD Ensemble (dir. Andries Baele) focuses on a repertoire of Celtic Folk, extended to other World Music styles, to Pop.

The JAZZ-FUSION Ensemble (dir. Arthur Maes) focuses on a “Fusion” repertoire (jazz/rock/funk/latin) from the 60’s to the 80’s with compositions by Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, John Scofield, Chick Corea amongst others.

The younger students who aspire to be invited to The ARTISTS, and /or the FOLK-WORLD and JAZZ-FUSION ensembles can freely subscribe for the preparatory course The CANDIDS (each Wednesday, from 19h to 20h).

Preparation for Higher Music Studies

We offer also specific courses to students who are preparing for an entrance examination into a music conservatoire, both in classical and jazz style.

These lessons are aimed at students who have benefited from musical tuition in a music academy alongside general, technical or professional schooling, and who do not yet feel secure enough to take the big step into a conservatoire.

Further Training for Professionals

A lot of good active professional musicians have been trained too unilaterally, often towards only one musical style, and are therefore constrained in their further musical evolution. They haven’t been taught how to play from sheet music, or how to play without sheet music but by ear, how to improvise, how to make a thorough analysis of the score for a better mastering and interpretation of the music, how to let the expressivity transcend the technique. CLASS & JAZZ offers them the opportunity to expand their knowledge so as to allow them to explore new musical horizons.

Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Pédagogie

Tous Styles de Musique

CLASS & JAZZ veut se distancer des éternelles étiquettes qui cherchent à opposer les musiques comme autant de styles différents. La musique, c’est de la musique! L’éducation de base ne fait donc pas la différence entre le Classique d’une part et le Jazz/Rock/Pop d’autre part. Dès le départ, notre approche se veut globale, afin de permettre aux élèves d’explorer tous les styles de musiques voulus au cours de leur formation.

Plus tard un choix s’impose (généralement), selon les dispositions et les goûts personnels, parce que ces deux styles exigent une approche différente. Les musiciens classiques doivent développer une technique instrumentale hétérogène et une bonne compréhension de la partition écrite, pré-arrangée. La formation comprend donc principalement la lecture et l’exécution du répertoire classique. Les musiciens de Jazz, Rock et Pop ont, eux, surtout besoin d’une connaissance approfondie des gammes et des accords, orientée vers une technique plus personnalisée, la composition, l’arrangement et l’improvisation. L’approche comprend donc essentiellement l’utilisation créative de la théorie musicale pendant l’exécution des standards de Jazz, de Rock, de Pop et de World.

Mais ce serait une erreur de penser que les musiciens classiques puissent négliger la théorie musicale, et réciproquement, que les musiciens de jazz puissent se permettre d’ignorer la technique instrumentale et la lecture à vue.

Tous nos professeurs pratiquent les deux approches.

Solfège Intégré

Chez CLASS & JAZZ le solfège n’est pas un cours obligatoire et séparé. Il est appris en même temps que l’instrument dans le cours individuel « intégré » qui approche tous les aspects nécessaires à l’apprentissage de la musique. Etant donné que tous ces aspects sont enseignés par le même professeur, l’élève développe plus facilement le lien entre l’instrument et la théorie :

  • La technique de l’instrument: coordination vue/toucher/ouïe
  • La théorie musicale: solfège, rythme, gammes et accords, analyse
  • L’entraînement de l’oreille: lecture à vue chantée, dictée, jouer à l’oreille
  • La musicalité: interprétation, culture musicale, développement de sa propre personnalité musicale

Si nécessaire, ou souhaité, le cours individuel offre aussi suffisamment de souplesse pour pouvoir approfondir certains aspects plus spécifiques de la musique tels que la lecture à vue, la composition, l’improvisation, l’arrangement, l’harmonie jazz, l’harmonie classique,… (voir aussi les aspects cités ci-dessus)

Grâce à cette approche pédagogique intégrée, l’élève ne doit se déplacer qu’une seul fois pour l’instrument ET le solfège.

Projets de Scène

Les étudiants qui le désirent ont la possibilité de démarrer un projet musical total. Il s’agit d’organiser et d’exécuter son propre concert, entièrement personnalisé, stylé et présenté selon ses propres désirs, avec les musiciens que l’on choisit soi-même, … le tout mené à bien sous les bons conseils de notre équipe de professeurs.

Ces projets de parachèvement musical s’articulent autour de quatre stades nécessaires au développement musical. A chaque stade, le/la musicien(ne) est confronté(e) à, et peut maîtriser, de nouveaux défis. Chaque stade se construit sur les bases construites lors des stades précédents.

The JOY Project
Pour jeunes musiciens, tout simplement pour partager la joie du jeu avec son public.

The ATTITUDE Project
Pour esprits créatifs qui désirent présenter (partiellement, ou entièrement) leurs oeuvres écrites, et qui, en plus de jouer, aiment à apporter à “leur” spectacle un cachet propre, une personnalité et un caractère qui les individualisent.

The SKILLS Project
Pour élèves avancés qui veulent faire entendre et voir tout ce qu’ils sont déjà capables de jouer: virtuose, audacieux et sincère. (niveau requis: examen d’entrée au conservatoire)

The ART Project
Comme but ultime, pour achever le cycle d’apprentissage, pour faire voir et entendre que, dès lors, on est devenu « artiste ».

Formations semi-professionnelles
The CANDIDS / The ARTISTS / FOLK-WORLD / JAZZ-FUSION

Nos élèves les plus avancés sont invités (sélectionnés) à s’inscrire aux cours The ARTISTS (chaque vendredi, de 21h à 22h), Ensemble FOLK-WORLD (chaque samedi, de 10h à 11h), et/ou Ensemble JAZZ-FUSION (mardi, tous les 15 jours, de 20h à 22h). Le but de ces cours est de former des musiciens de niveau professionnel, qui mettent consciemment leur talent individuel au service du jeu d’ “ensemble”, aux nécessités du “groupe.”

La formation des ARTISTS (dir. Raph Van Goubergen) comprend l’apprentissage de diverses techniques de groupe et de scène tels que Close Harmony, Direction Musicale Interactive, Pratiques d’Accompagnement, Arrangement/Improvisation/Composition, Band Coaching, Band Management, … Les activités des ARTISTS consistent à accompagner nos autres élèves lors de notre journée OPUS (concert annuel CLASS & JAZZ) ou de leurs projets de scène individuels, mais aussi à créer des projets, concerts et autres spectacles propres aux ARTISTS.

L’Ensemble FOLK-WORLD (dir. Andries Baele) se concentre sur un répertoire de Folk Celtic, étendu à d’autres styles de Musique du Monde, jusqu’au Pop.

L’Ensemble JAZZ-FUSION (dir. Arthur Maes) est axé sur un répertoire “Fusion” (jazz/rock/funk/latin) des années 1960 à 1980 avec des compositions d’Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, John Scofield, Chick Corea et autres.

Les jeunes étudiants qui aspirent à se faire inviter pour The ARTISTS, les ensembles FOLK-WORLD et/ou JAZZ-FUSION peuvent s’inscrire librement pour le cours préparatoire The CANDIDS (chaque mercredi, de 19h30 à 20h30).

La Préparation au Conservatoire

Nous offrons également des cours individuels aux élèves qui se préparent à passer un examen d’entrée aux hautes études musicales, que ce soit en classique ou en jazz.

Ces cours sont particulièrement adaptés aux étudiants qui ont suivi des cours en académie de musique, en parallèle à une formation d’enseignement général, technique ou professionnel, mais qui se sentent encore peu sûrs d’eux pour oser le grand saut vers le conservatoire.

Formation pour Professionnels

Beaucoup de bons musiciens professionnels actifs ont eu durant leur formation une approche stylistique trop unilatérale, et se sentent dès lors freinés dans leur recherche d’un plus grand épanouissement. Bien souvent, ils n’ont pas appris à jouer sur partition, ou à jouer à l’oreille, à improviser, à faire une analyse harmonique, ou encore, à donner priorité à leur expressivité musicale en regard de leur technique instrumentale. CLASS & JAZZ leur propose d’élargir leurs connaissances afin d’explorer de nouveaux horizons.